Before spring maintenance – what and how I do

Hello everyone,

Finally we are having winter behind and spring is just around the corner. To me this is the best and one of the most active part of the season. There is a lot to do and usually some of my plants don’t really like long winters. I am lucky that there is more or less enough space for every plant, but even with the biggest care some plants get damaged. If you have similar problems, don’t worry. Plants are stronger, than we think and with a bit more attention they get good as new!
8514f04c3420f8163a44ecc3f22c76b8

In this section I would like to talk about before spring/early spring maintenance. My first recommendation is, don’t follow only calendar blindly. We all know, spring starts -according to calendar in March, but in many cases in March it is still cold, cloudy or even slightly snowy. Adjust your gardening activities to the weather. I know this statement sounded very silly and many of you think “duh obviously!”, but believe it or not, many of my friends with garden do gardening according to a calendar and then get surprised that some plants react to pruning or sowing badly. Here, where I live slowly it starts to be spring, but still plants are sleeping. Perfect time! Weather starts to get warmer, more sunlight and days starts to get longer.
For me this is the perfect time to start pruning some plants, “damage control” from winter, repotting and sowing.
Instead of a long monotonous text, I will show you what I mean. My example is my Peperomia ferreyrae.

This plant suffered from end of last year a light pest disease, got cold in February (look at black brown spots) and had slight mineral issues. Let’s be honest these alone can be big issues, but together a catastrophe. Yet this plant has some small, fresh leaves indicating it wants to live. So what did I do? Pruning and soil maintenance.

First I cleaned my scissors with alcohol, this way to avoid bacteria getting inside the plant from the fresh wounds and secondly I used a paste to seal and heal wounds. If you are cutting small branches you can skip the paste, but I was cutting the stem and quite big chunks.

I used an ear pick to put the paste on it and gently heal the cut area. Does it look attractive? No, but it helps your plant and I want to help it to heal as soon as possible.

IMG_3618
Finally I fertilized the soil, removed a chunk where was mold and sprinkled some cinnamon on the top to prevent spreading.

IMG_3619

Finally it looks like this. Now it looks very empty and sad, but time will heal the wounds and with new leaves this plant will flourish once more when spring and summer will be here!

Thank you for reading! I hope you will have a lot of fun with gardening and taking care of your plants!

Leave a Reply

