Ikea’s Växer – a hydroponic garden for home

Hello everyone,

After a break I would like to share with you a new blog series, where I will talk about my experiences about Ikea’s newest product, called Växer.

krydda-vaxer-kit-for-indoor-gardening-by-ikea-6-750x750

So what is it? Everyone knows about Ikea, the furniture giant. But this time it is more about home gardening than a piece of furniture. Ever wanted to grow fresh salad and cooking ingredients indoor? Well then Ikea has the solution for your problem. They even made a very good video about what is Växer.

After reading a bit about it, I became curious. Seasons of course affect gardening possibilities and not everyone can establish a winter garden at home – especially if you live in a flat like me without any garden possibility. So what I did is I went to IKEA to buy myself a full equipment.

All in all, it isn’t a cheap investment. Buying the stand, lamp, soil, fertiliser, seeds, greenhouse, growing media can be actually pricy.. but is it worthy? We will see! 🙂

The items and  seeds seem to me good quality. The only issue is some parts fit not the best, but nothing major. In about 1 hour – or if you get help even less, you can fully construct and make your new home garden operational. As we all know, IKEA isn’t hard to put together and even for this case it is true. For now what I have did, I put my seeds (watercress, basil, parsley) in the growing media and filled the greenhouse with water – this way the growing media will take and hold just enough water for the seeds to germinate. If you have warm and sunny weather you can put it to the windowsill or if not just under the growing light, either way it should work. When I will have some result I will share it with you in my next post.

 

If you are interested how to do it step by step, you can watch IKEA’s commercial in a time lapse video. I hope in the upcoming days I will already see some progress and I can share some good experiences with you!

All in all my review about Växer is:

Pro:
– good quality
– suitable for “lazy” gardeners
– up to 9 different seeds
– easy to use, doesn’t require much of an attention
– doesn’t take much space
– “clean gardening” – won’t leave much of a mess
– high chance os success

Con:
– kind of pricey
– some parts don’t fit easily, but nothing major

Let me know in the comments if you already have it and what are your experiences!

Leave a Reply

