Tillandsia and Biophytum

Hello everyone,

Today I would like you to introduce two new plants. One of them is a Tillandsia Sphaerocephala and the other one is a Biophytum Sensitivum. I am super excited since these plants I wanted to acquire long time ago, and now finally I could buy them. Now that it is summer and the weather is warm and sunny, it will be perfect to leave them outside the balcony.

First things first, I will talk about the Tillandsia Sphaerocephala. Like all Tillandsia, it has no roots, so it gets all of its nutrients through its leaves.

IMG_1472

This one might look familiar to something… and if you also thought of a pineapple, then you are right. It is member of the family Bromeliaceae – just like the pineapple. The difference is, it has “white leaves”. Well, that is what makes this plant interest, it is called trichomes. These work like small traps, trapping water and nutrients for the plant.  It also has a specialty compared to many other (tillandsia) plants. It has its own reservoir. When it rains it collects water between the leaves and in the middle allowing the plant to store valuable nutrients for hard times. In the wildness it is essential to survive long and hot summers, but at domestic circumstances it can actually cause you problems.
Like every tillandsia, I recommend to use the bathing method. Just pour some water in a big bowl and put your air plants in it for about 15-20 minutes. If you spray, it is also good for this type of plant (although I fertilize with the spraying method), only with the Spanish Moss (Tillandsia usneoides) it is not the best solution, because water can not reach the inside of it. if you decided to bath it, afterwards make sure that there is no water sitting between the leaves, because it can case rotting.
This plant likes bright spots, but not full sun and I recommend to buy tillandsia fertilizer to ensure a healthy growth. Otherwise, well it is a fairly easy plant to care of!

My other plant is my a Biophytum SensitivumYou might think, Sensitivum? Sensitive? Is it a sensitive plant? A relative of a mimosa pudica? Well again correct! I am fascinated by these plants so I could not let it slide. Furthermore, after I bought it, I was even more surprised, this plant has seeds on it!

If you have a mimosa pudica at home, then all I can tell you is that this plant requires the same. So let’s talk about the plant from the bottom to the top! It likes a humus-peat-loosely soil. During the summer keep it moist, but never wet, and during the winter period try to keep it more on the dry side. Fertilize it as it is indicated on the bottle of a product (it does not require special fertilizer). It has interestingly a tree like stem, so it can be a great decoration on a table or anywhere indoor or outdoor. It’s optimum temperature is 25-27°C but never go below 12-14°C. Its leaves are not as sensible as of a mimosa, but for the night it folds and goes to sleep. When the sun comes up it wakes up and you can see a change. If you want to see this change, feel free to check out this video on YouTube!
As you can see, it also came with seeds, which is a definitely a bonus! 🙂 I just put these seeds in a wet humus rich soil and watered it well. Now I am waiting!

If there will be a change or I get success with my seeds, I will update you! Until then, thanks for reading my blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

