A new bonsai…

Hello all,

I know it has been a while, since I have post anything about bonsai. Well after many months here is an update, and a very special one! 🙂

Behold my new bonsai: My Sequoia Sempervirens – made by forest style (in Japanese: yose-un)

 

So now comes the usual part where I talk a bit about the plant itself and caring. The reason why this plant is so close to my heart is, because it can not be found where I live. It is more common in the United States (Northern California and Southwestern Oregon States), but in Central Europe no. If sequoia is not familiar to you, maybe coast redwood sounds more familiar because that is how it is called in common language. Even if this is a “miniature tree”, it tries to show that these trees can be tall, very tall… in fact one of the tallest trees on Earth! It can reach up height up to 115.5 meters (excl. root system), and that is pretty wow! The other interesting fact lies within its bark. The thick, tannin-rich bark, combined with foliage starting high above the ground, provides good protection from both fire and insect damage, contributing to the coast redwood’s longevity. So basically this plant has no natural enemies (except humans who like to cut down these trees and sell its wood for a nice profit). Because of these amazing facts, this tree can live easily around 600 years and the oldest recorded tree is 2,200 years old!

After the fun facts, I will tell a bit about my tree especially. I can’t stress enough, when you purchase a plant to be sure to check its natural environment and try to copy it as much as possible. The same rules apply for this plant. It likes water, but not over watering. I keep my plant in a peaty soil, which allows to hold more moisture and space for roots. This plant was raised indoor, so (normally) it does not mind full sun, but this specimen prefers morning or evening sunshine or a bit shady/no direct sun area. Fertalisation should be also done a bit differently. We talk about a tree, so no strong fertilisation is required, instead a slow release fertiliser or a 10-10-10 should be more than enough. And as I wrote earlier, due to its natural protection mechanism, I do not have to worry about serious pest or diseases (except rotting the roots).

So this is my new bonsai and hope it will find a happy place among my other plants!

One thought on “A new bonsai…

Leave a Reply

